Day Out

A walk down Aira Force

As some of you know, I live in the Lake District however I am from South Yorkshire, therefore Nick & I spend a lot of time out in the Lakes exploring and discovering new places.

Recently, my family came to visit & we went to Aira Force, a waterfall which runs down Gowbarrow Fell into Ullswater lake. It is somewhere we have been meaning to visit since moving here and I must say it was brilliant. I can’t believe we haven’t been before now! The day before we visited there was high rainfall so the waterfall was spectacular and running really fast which looked amazing.

The area surrounding the waterfall was so beautiful. A criss cross of paths, waterfall and woodland, which you could easily get tangled in if you love to walk and explore, which we do.

However, we didn’t walk for long as we wanted to visit Grassmere too and didn’t have much time.  We started from the top and worked our way down a shortish way, crossed a bridge then climbed up the other side. However, if you would like a longer walk you can walk the whole of the waterfall or walk the Gowbarrow Fell if you prefer.

There are car parks, at a small cost, at the bottom & also along the road which is adjacent to the waterfall and all of the costs go to maintaining the area, I believe. We had to park on the road, as all the car parks were full to the brim because we got their at midday and had forgotten about the small detail of it being a bank holiday.

Aira Force is somewhere Nick & I are definitely going to visit again. We will walk further and get the full experience but I can truly say it is one of the nicest places I have been in the Lakes so far. It is somewhere children (although I would avoid a pushchair) and older people can go, explore the outdoors and have fun or just relax.

As I said in the ‘Get to Know Me‘ I love to take pictures of everything and my brother Liam and I spent most of our time showing our mum how to take really nice photos (while she got frustrated because she thought we were keeping a ‘how to take a great photo’ secret from her haha). I will leave some of the pictures below that Nick, my brother Liam and I took during our time there.

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog & I hope you enjoy the photos below. If you would like to see more of them, please visit my Instagram @jayeelizabeth 🙂

Be kind & keep smiling.

J x

One thought on “A walk down Aira Force

Leave a Reply

